A+ » VCE » Maths Methods U3 & 4 Master Notes » A1 Functions and Graphs » 3.1 Transformation 1: Translation

3.1 Transformation 1: Translation


  • The Cartesian plane is represented by the set R^2 of all ordered pairs of real numbers. That is, R^{2}=\{(x, y): x, y \in R\}.
  • If there is a rule that maps all points (let’s say one of it is denoted as \left(x_{1},\ y_{1}\right)) to their respective new points (denoted as \left(x_{2},\ y_{2}\right)), this rule is said as a transformation.
  • A transformation is generally represented by the following:

(x,\ y) \rightarrow\left(x^{\prime},\ y^{\prime}\right)

  • There will be three transformations introduced in this course, namely translation, reflection and dilation. Combinations of these is also introduced.


This content is for Master Notes MM members only. Unlock the content by signing up for a membership level - quick and easy!
Log InSign Up